Hajj & Umrah
Alavi Travel > Hajj & Umrah


Hajj is an obligatory act of worship (Ibadat), means to visit the house of Allah (SWT), i.e. Khane-e-Kaaba in Mecca, on the specified dates in the month of Dhulhijjah and to perform religious rites in accordance with the Islamic Laws.

The performance of Hajj is obligatory upon a person once in his Lifetime.
Hajj is one of the basic principles of Islam; its performance is one of the essentials, and its non-performance is a grave sin. Denial of the obligatory nature of Hajj is blasphemy (Kufr). Allah states in the Holy Qur’an “…and pilgrimage to the house is incumbent upon men for the sake of Allah, (upon) everyone who is able to undertake the journey to it; and whoever disbelieves, surely Allah is self-sufficient, above any need of the worlds”.(3/97).

Hajj becomes Wajib when two following general conditions are present; Buloogh (attaining maturity) and Aql (becoming sane) which are preconditions for all the Furu-e-Deen. In addition, two specific conditions are necessary before Hajj becomes obligatory on a Muslim:

1. On account of this journey to Mecca, he should not forsake another obligatory task.
2. He should be a Mustati i.e. He should possess all the means to perform the Hajj without hindrance. A person becomes Mustati on the following conditions:-
a. Enough wealth to pay for the travelling (to and fro) expenses.
b. Healthy and strong enough to perform Hajj.
c. No obstacles; like fear of losing property, honor, roads being sealed.
d. Enough time to go to Mecca and perform the Wajibats.
e. Enough money left with dependents to enable them to continue with their normal life when the person has gone for Hajj.
f. Means for earning the livelihood is safe once he returns from the Pilgrimage.


Hajj are of three types
1. Hajj-e-Qiraan
2. Hajj-e-Ifraad, these two types of Hajj are wajib upon the people of Mecca and those whose residence is less than 16 farsakh (1 farsakh is 5.5 kilometres) away from Mecca. These forms of Hajj do not have Umra-e-Tamattu’, but it is wajib to perform Umra-e-Mufridah afterwards.
3. Hajj-e-Tamattu this Hajj is wajib on all those who live 16 farsakh from Mecca or beyond. Hajj-e-Tamattu consists of two acts of worship. The first act is called Umra-e-Tamattu, and the second one is termed Hajj-e-Tamattu, and it is necessary that Umra-e-Tamattu is performed before Hajj-e-Tamattu. However, if anyone who cannot perform Umra-e-Tamattu before Hajj-e-Tamattu due to some justifiable excuses, which will be outlined then he should do Hajj-e-Ifraad and thus this book explains Hajj-e-Tamattu in two parts, in sequential order.